Mayors' Council of Oklahoma

Click here to edit subtitle

2016 Mayor of the Year

Two mayors will be honored this year by the Mayors Council of Oklahoma (MCO).  Winners will be named from two population categories - fewer than 5,000 and 5,000 population and above. The nominees will be recognized at the MCO Mayor’s Breakfast on Wednesday, September 14th with the Mayor of the Year Award presented at the awards banquet on Thursday, September 15th at the Annual Banquet. This award truly honors all Oklahoma mayors and the contributions they make to their communities.

This year’s nominees are for Communities 5,000 and above are:
  • Mayor Craig Thurmond, City of Broken Arrow
  • Mayor Matt White, City of El Reno
  • Mayor Kim Peterson, City of Guymon
  • Mayor Jennifer Clason, City of Henryetta
  • Mayor Kelly Dunkerley, City of Jenks
  • Mayor Bob Coburn, City of Muskogee
  • Mayor Jay Adams, City of Mustang

The nominees for cities of under 5,000 are:
  • Mayor Stan Jackson, City of McLoud
  • Mayor Pat Kennedy, City of Oilton

MCO Mayor of the Year

Two awards:

Municipalities of 5000 or more 

Municipalities of less than 5000 

Criteria for consideration are as follows:

  • Must be in elected municipal office at the time of presentation;
  • Must have served in elected municipal office a minimum of three years;
  • Membership in the Mayors Council of Oklahoma, MCO
  • Municipality must be a member of the Oklahoma Municipal League OML; and
  • Previous Mayor of the Year winners are not eligible for re-nomination.